Helping parents

By Shafina Khatun (SSA Cavendish)

My moment of preparing for Open Mic at Regents last Friday was emotional for me as I planned a small piece on family. I was realising how inactive I was and I will be honest with you a wakeup call to realising how unappreciative I can be of my mother and my late father. On the day of Open Mic I was practising to my friends, afterwards we sat down and devised ways that we could help them out. Here are some tips they provided which serve as a beneficial reminder, perhaps we could try out one or two tips and see where it leads us. Hope it helps.

*Tidy the house, putting away any mess before you leave for University. You could add in an extra fifteen minutes to your morning schedule.

*Make parents tea, give them small gifts and surprises every so often to show a token of appreciation.

*If you see something that needs to be done just do it. For example, laundrette is piling up, or there’s a dish overload in the sink then get rid of it.

*Once a week vacuum the house

*Eat and cook dinner together with the family.

What tips and advice do you have? Please comment below. We often forget the most important people in our lives who have loved and cared for us so much that they deserve the hugest amount of gratitude.

 

About studentsofwest

This blog was created for the students of Westminster university. WEST stands for Westminster's efficient, successful and triumphant students. Hopefully this blog will help students in wanting to achieve these qualities. It won't make student's an overnight successes. Rather it is meant to be a gentle nudge for the student so that they pave their own road in life, whilst at the same time benefitting other students (for the students, by the students). Students can email in their ideas and queries to studentsofwest@outlook.com Finally: Mother to Son Well, son, I’ll tell you: Life for me ain’t been no crystal stair. It’s had tacks in it, And splinters, And boards torn up, And places with no carpet on the floor— Bare. But all the time I’se been a-climbin’ on, And reachin’ landin’s, And turnin’ corners, And sometimes goin’ in the dark Where there ain’t been no light. So boy, don’t you turn back. Don’t you set down on the steps ’Cause you finds it’s kinder hard. Don’t you fall now— For I’se still goin’, honey, I’se still climbin’, And life for me ain’t been no crystal stair. By Langston Hughes You can make it students of WEST!
This entry was posted in Inspiration and Motivation, Personal development and work skills and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

