I.T. free…it’s FREE!!!

By Shafina Khatun (SSA Cavendish)

I was lying on the purple bean bag in the Cavendish student union pod when Miriam mentioned to me about the free IT software available for students. She then sent me over a link and I didn’t think free things would make me go a little crazy because…I WANT IT ALL! I might not need it, but I want it because it’s there!!! It might not excite all of you like it did me and some may even know about this already.

First things first…the boring *cough* sorry I meant to say the technical help. The faculty for Science and Technology have a wiki support page which includes how to log your IT issues and how to contact the fixIT centre. Our IT support provides training sessions, usually in the libraries so that we can improve our IT skills. Training sessions can also lead to certificates in programmes such as Adobe and Microsoft packages. For information please click on the link below https://support.ecs.westminster.ac.uk/w/index.php/Main_Page

Now moving onto the free stuff, just check out what you can download. https://support.ecs.westminster.ac.uk/w/index.php/Title:_Downloads

The best for last. Dreamsparks. I didn’t know what that was until I clicked the website, but the name sounded good. It’s a platform, providing free software to students to support them during their time at University. A little bit of description can be found on this website https://support.ecs.westminster.ac.uk/w/index.php/Title:_Academic_Initiatives  AND the free software can be found here. http://e5.onthehub.com/WebStore/ProductsByMajorVersionList.aspx?ws=3c47cf95-846f-e011-971f-0030487d8897&vsro=8&JSEnabled=1  You can download Microsoft products for free however, this doesn’t include office. Sorry people.

About studentsofwest

This blog was created for the students of Westminster university. WEST stands for Westminster's efficient, successful and triumphant students. Hopefully this blog will help students in wanting to achieve these qualities. It won't make student's an overnight successes. Rather it is meant to be a gentle nudge for the student so that they pave their own road in life, whilst at the same time benefitting other students (for the students, by the students). Students can email in their ideas and queries to studentsofwest@outlook.com Finally: Mother to Son Well, son, I’ll tell you: Life for me ain’t been no crystal stair. It’s had tacks in it, And splinters, And boards torn up, And places with no carpet on the floor— Bare. But all the time I’se been a-climbin’ on, And reachin’ landin’s, And turnin’ corners, And sometimes goin’ in the dark Where there ain’t been no light. So boy, don’t you turn back. Don’t you set down on the steps ’Cause you finds it’s kinder hard. Don’t you fall now— For I’se still goin’, honey, I’se still climbin’, And life for me ain’t been no crystal stair. By Langston Hughes You can make it students of WEST!
This entry was posted in Inspiration and Motivation, Personal development and work skills, study skills and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

